Os Du Randt World Rugby Hall of Fame unductee 2019

Os Du Randt will be inducted into World Rugby Hall of Fame

Legendary Springbok prop and dual Rugby World Cup winner Os du Randt will be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame at the World Rugby Awards in Tokyo on 3 November, with All Black World Cup winning captain Richie McCaw & All Black World Cup winning coach Graham Henry on the day following the Rugby World Cup 2019 final.

OS DU RANDT (World Rugby Hall of Fame – Inductee No.145)

Born: 8 September, 1972 in Elliot, Eastern Cape

Os du Randt fittingly retired from the game at the very top in 2007 having won a second Rugby World Cup, the only Springbok to do so, following South Africa’s 15-6 victory over England in the final at the Stade de France in Paris.

Regarded as one of the finest loosehead props of all time, Du Randt won the first of his 80 international caps in 1994, the year before South Africa’s historic triumph on home soil, and was the last active member of that iconic squad.

Du Randt was sidelined through injury from 2000-03 but returned to the Springboks’ ranks against Ireland in Bloemfontein in June 2004, thus ending a five-year absence from the international arena.

The fact that he missed 46 matches during his time away makes Du Randt’s final tally of Test caps all the more remarkable and until being overtaken by John Smit in late 2008, the revered prop held the record as South Africa’s most-capped forward.

Aside from his Rugby World Cup successes he was also able to get his hands on the Tri-Nations trophy in 2004 (now the Castle Lager Rugby Championship), as well as enjoying a successful provincial and Vodacom Super Rugby career in South Africa.

Os Du Randt with fellow 95 Springbok front row mates Balie Swart Chris Rossouw.

World Rugby Hall of Fame 2019 inductees:

  • Richie McCaw (New Zealand) – Inductee No.143
  • Shiggy Konno (Japan) – Inductee No.144
  • Os du Randt (South Africa) – Inductee No.145
  • Peter Fatialofa (Samoa) – Inductee No.146
  • Graham Henry (New Zealand) – Inductee No.147
  • Diego Ormaechea (Uruguay) – Inductee No.148


About the Hall of Fame: To be eligible for consideration for the World Rugby Hall of Fame, inductees must have been retired from playing and coaching international rugby for a minimum of three years. They will have made an outstanding contribution to the game of rugby while also demonstrating rugby’s core values.

The World Rugby Hall of Fame panel consists of: Chairman John Eales (Australia, Hall of Fame inductee No.6), Pablo Mamone (Argentina), Henri Garcia (France), David Hands (England), Rob Cole (Wales) and Anna Richards (New Zealand and Hall of Fame inductee No.84).

At the beginning of each year, World Rugby determines if there is a relevant theme for that year’s inductions and in conjunction with the panel, put a shortlist of candidates together. The World Rugby Hall of Fame panel vote on the shortlist. These votes and a discussion with World Rugby determine the final list of candidates to be inducted. Each year approximately five to 10 people are inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame at a ceremony.



Twitter: @jayjbotes
Facebook: /jayjbotes
Instagram: @jayjbotes
LinkedIn: /jayjbotes
Youtube: /JayJBotesMedia

Source:  SA Rugby

#DailySportsNews #JayJBotes #News #JayJBotesMedia #SouthAfrica #Rugby #Boks #OsDuRandt

There are no comments

Add yours

%d bloggers like this: